Traveling with the Oppo Find N3/One Plus Fold

Matthew Hardman
10 min readNov 24, 2023

An trial of folding on the road

I recently had the opportunity to travel for a few days with my daughter post her final exams in primary school (many who live in Singapore will know these as the PSLE, or Primary School Leaving Exam). As a reward for all the hard work leading up to this, I gave her the opportunity to select a destination, and not unsurprisingly, she chose her favorite location Tokyo Japan. For her the combination of animal cafes and ramen is something not to be missed, well certainly not at the same time anyway.

A couple of days prior to our flight, I was lucky enough to take delivery of an Oppo Find N3, which for all intents is the same thing as the OnePlus Fold, albeit some differences in OS, but the underlying hardware is pretty much the same.

For history sake, I have used many phones, iOS, Android based, even the Windows Phone (in fact in my career I was given the opportunity to launch it as a product manager for Microsoft in Singapore, and I still think it was a great phone), however I had been running through a few iterations of the iPhone of late, and switching back to Android was going to take something a little special. In fact in discussions the one app that was really holding me back, was Microsoft Authenticator, normally moving from one iPhone to the next was a simple…

--

--

Matthew Hardman

The thoughts of a technical professional who works across APAC, having the opportunity to see and do a wide range of roles from strategy to people leader.