The one simple switch to make your PowerPoint presentation more accessible.

Matthew Hardman
2 min readJun 25, 2024

I will admit it, I consider myself a bit insane when it comes to PowerPoint presentations. I cringe when I see shapes out of alignment, mismatched fonts, or the use of a page to capture about a hundred points. When used well… PowerPoint can be a very expressive medium that helps people express incredible ideas.

This morning, I was working on a presentation to help people develop their personal pitches when engaging career stakeholders, and as I was trying to model the thought process flow with some interconnecting shapes, with distinct colors, I noticed this switch under the “Shape Fill” menu.

When you select this option, what you will find is that the options for colors you can select under shape fill are restricted, to those that only provide a high level of contrast.

The comparison between “High-contrast only” on and off

With this feature turned on, you can more easily select those colors that will provide you the contrast schemes that result in the highest level of accessibility for your viewers, taking the guess work out of what the right colors are, and which aren’t.

Why is this important?

The accessibility of information in many countries is the law, and to get there, minimum requirements must be met in the presentation of information. Digital.gov…

--

--

Matthew Hardman

The thoughts of a technical professional who works across APAC, having the opportunity to see and do a wide range of roles from strategy to people leader.